DEEP 1995-1999


The NARS-DEEP project was a project which was set up by Utrecht University in collaboration with the University of St. Petersburg (Russia), the Institute of Geological Sciences in Minsk (Belarus), the Institute of Geophysics in Kiev (Ukraine), and the Institute of earthquake Prediction Theory and Mathematical Physics in Moscow (Russia). The objective of the NARS-DEEP project (1995-1999) was collect seismological data to study the upper mantle structure below the East European Platform and to investigate regional seismicity. In July 1995 six broadband seismological stations were installed in the western part of the New Independent States (Russia, Belarus and the Ukraine). Two additional stations were installed in 1997. The stations continued to record after the official end of the project.